Grammarly

Grammarly makes you a better writer by finding and correcting 
up to 10× more mistakes than your word processor.

The first time I came across this programme, called grammarly, I was very jaundiced about it. For a fleeting moment I could envisage this programme replacing everything including the role of a teacher! I thought that this programme is going to leave English courses in the shade. And it made me really sad to see the progress technology has been made. However, after the first Tell course, the first thing that came up in my mind was ‘grammarly’. So the moment I had time to do a little research on this site I surfed on the internet to see what the perks of this programme are.

First of all, you can create a free-account but only on chrome, safari and Firefox browser. so if you want to use grammarly freely, make sure that your browser is supported.

It not only corrects and checks the basic spelling, but also grammatical structures and features. This all makes grammarly very compelling. Many similar programmes focus on words in isolation. Grammarly, on the other hand, is context-optimized. Even if you correctly spell a word, grammarly can identify it when it’s used in the wrong context.

This programme is very handy and very attractive for many users yet I don’t know whether I would introduce it to my pupils (maybe once). This programme is ideally for ELF students/people who use English regularly for their job for example.  Our pupils, however, have to learn the basic elements and to learn to focus on meaning and form. Using grammarly would only make them lazy writers. So therefore, I wouldn’t use grammarly often. It’s a nice tool to let your pupils work with once or twice. Maybe if I let them write a letter, I would pick one out and analyze it together with the whole class.

You could argue that using grammarly is more effective when you have a content-based approach since the focus is more on content rather than language.

www.grammarly.com

Geef een reactie

